Cubbo Podcast #001 Ken Ishii (JP)

Welcome to the Cubbo weekly podcast. Be ready for 60 minutes of the finest quality techno and hardtechno around the globe. On our first Episode we have one of Japan’s techno legends, Ken Ishii.

Japanese techno star Ken Ishii is among the most innovative, experimental composers in contemporary techno. Although working in and drawing from a decidedly dancefloor-oriented, Detroit-derived framework, Ishii’s exploration of avant-garde compositional techniques like chromaticism and the prominent influence of digital synthesis figures him as strongly deviant from Motor City aesthetic tradition. He has released work under his own name as well as under the pseudonyms FLR, Flare, UTU, Yoga and Rising Sun.

Ken Ishii debuted on the legendary Belgian techno label R&S Records in 1993. In that year he straight won No.1 on the UK’s NME magazine’s techno chart, which led him to worldwide recognition. In 1995, the highly praised album “Jelly Tones” (R&S/Sony Japan) was released. In the following year, the video for the single “Extra” from this album (directed by Koji Morimoto, the animator of the worldwide hit cartoon, “Akira”) won MTV’s “Dance Video of the Year”. Since then, Ken has been regarded internationally as one of the Japanese pioneers who can create world class electronic sounds.

These days, Ken spends 2/3 of his time on travelling in Europe, Asia, North/South America DJ’ing and working as a true international artist/DJ. In 2004, he was awarded the Best Techno DJ at “Dance Music Awards” in Ibiza, proving himself to be one of the world’s most talented DJ’s in the scene as well. His unique blend always drives crowd into frenzy.


Download link:


01. Marc Romboy & Ken Ishii – Taiyo [Systematic]
02. Phunk Investigation – Altered State (Christian Fischer Remix) [Definition]
03. Paul Ritch – Silver Dust [Quartz]
04. Harvey McKay – Kickback [Suara]
05. OWL a.k.a Satoshi Fumi – OHU (Original Mix) [Hypnotic Room]
06. Heiko Laux & Diego Hostettler – Splinter [Uturn]
07. Marc Romboy & Ken Ishii – Gosa (Heiko Laux & Diego Hostettler Remix) [Systematic]
08. Heiko Laux & Diego Hostettler – Chicken Understand [Kanzleramt]
09. Sergio Castilla – Orgasmind (Original Mix) [Pornographic]
10. Cristian Varela – Mr. Borowic (Original Mix) [Pornographic]
11. Coyu – Road To Meowland [Suara]
12. Innakat aka Noir – Grab Somebody (Dosem Remix) [Suara]



comments 2022


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?


Create Account